irish banknotes Irish paper money Link to Irish papermoney Forum Interlink icon Link to Irishpapermoney main page

Main Page < Consolidated Banknotes - View by Type < National Bank > National Bank ploughman note pictures

Currency Commission Consolidated Banknotes
The National Bank Ltd. 1929-1940

One Type, by signature

Type 1N. H. A. Russell 1929-1940. £1, £5, £10

The National Bank Ltd


This bank was formed in 1834 in London by Daniel O’Connell and the Nationalist Party as The National Bank of Ireland. The National Bank issued its first notes in 1835.

The bank aimed itself at farmers and at country business outside Dublin. It expanded its branch network rapidly, but refrained from moving into Ulster to any significant degree as the province was then well covered by banks. In 1856 the Bank’s name was changed to The National Bank Ltd., as it commenced business in London.

It issued Consolidated Banknotes in 1929, as well as its own Northern Ireland issue. The National Bank was a large bank and National Bank Ploughman notes are relatively common, as it received a large allocation (£1,365,000) of the total Ploughman issue, with most of its branches falling within the Irish Free State after partition. Ploughman National Bank Five Pound notes are the most common bank for the denomination, with National Bank One Pound notes being second most common after Bank of Ireland.

In 1966 the Irish Business of the Bank was taken over by a new company called The National Bank of Ireland Ltd., which was set up as a subsidiary of The Bank of Ireland Group. The National Bank was subsequently taken over by the Bank of Ireland.

Ploughman Notes: Banks. Page 4 of 8

1 Bank of Ireland

2 Hibernian Bank

3 Munster and Leinster Bank

4 National Bank

5 Northern Bank

6 Provincial Bank

7 Royal Bank

8 Ulster Bank • Version 2.1.1 • Last update • COPYRIGHT ©2000, 2009, 2015 M Mac Devitt. Reproduction with citation permitted.